Federal Holidays

Home / Federal Holidays

Most federal offices are closed on official holidays. If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the preceding Friday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday. Many non-government employers also give their employees a holiday on these days. The federal government observes the following official holidays.


New Year's Day

January 1

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

3rd Monday in January

Presidents' Day

3rd Monday in February

Memorial day

Lasty Monday in May

Independence Day

July 4

Labor Day

1st Monday in September

Columbus Day

2ns Monday in October

Veteran's Day

November 11

Thanksgiving Day

4th Thursday in November

Christmas Day

December 25